Stay up to date:


Not all innovative businesses begin in a garage. They are often biotech SMEs, starting small but thinking big, and EuropaBio wishes to recognize and reward the most innovative among them.

While some of today’s most successful business giants may have started from luminaries experimenting in humble settings, over the years highly innovative small and medium sized enterprises in Europe have developed novel ways of meeting our societal, technical, and environmental problems through the application of biotechnology. EuropaBio, the European Association for Bioindustries, invites such SMEs to apply for the 9th edition of its Most Innovative European Biotech SME Award – a unique annual initiative recognising biotech innovation and its contribution to society in Europe.

Criteria for entry

In order to be considered for the EuropaBio SME awards a company must qualify as an SME under the standard EU SME definition (e.g. primary location of operations within Europe, 250 or less employees, €50 Million or less annual turnover).


EuropaBio would like to award companies and runners-up in 3 categories: healthcare, agricultural and industrial biotech. Biotech start-ups will compete across all sectors in one special category recognising early stage entrepreneurship. The diversity of European biotechnology warrants nothing less.


Experts who are involved in biotech and see the big picture, from the science to the funding realities to the political framework and who truly believe and understand the potential of innovation and SMEs for Europe’s future. Read more about them here.

Their privilege will be to analyse each application carefully, discover incredible new science, discuss, debate and select two nominees and a winner for each of the three categories.

Prizes and benefits

A cash prize plus two years free membership of EuropaBio for each winner (runners-up also receive this free membership). Both winners and runners-up also receive exposure in our network and the European biotech industry, as well as in front of top-level policy makers and industry leaders.

About this website

The awards website is proudly hosted green, meaning that our hosting company is powering their operation by renewables/green energy. Certification by

This website is hosted Green - checked by

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.